Message Board
Home Automated Living Forums > HAL Advanced Topic > HA Project Center » HAL, Amazon Echo/Dot, SMS, and TV Control

HA Project Center What have you done with HAL and/or HA? Explain it here for other to use and expand.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2017, 06:39 AM   #51
john.cafagna
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Default Re: HAL, Amazon Echo/Dot, SMS, and TV Control

As an FYI I personally found it easier, when using Alexa to turn off groups, to create a fake x10 device with a letter code I am not using and have HAL rules run off of that turning off or on. Example (Inside Light, HAL Virtual (Custom) X10, with code E07). Add that in the bridge then can say, "Alexa turn on inside lights". I may be making it more difficult, but works better for me.

I do have a question regarding the .bat file running the open command prompt. In the VERY APPRECIATED and EASY TO FOLLOW directions for HAL BWS Setup, it states, " Remember to remove this after testing or it will be nuisance when everything is working well and you simply want to close the window". Is this referring to the pause command? Is there a way for the cmd window to close and the Echo still see those connected devices? It appears when I close down the window, the Echo cannot control the lights. Thanks!
john.cafagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 06:51 AM   #52
dtomcat
Advanced Member III
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 383
Default Re: HAL, Amazon Echo/Dot, SMS, and TV Control

That window needs to stay open. When you close that window, you are actually closing the program. if you remove the pause command, then the window would close automatically when the program stops running. So I believe the nuisance they are talking about is only the PAUSE portion as it requires your input to close the window. Only way to remove this window would be to call it in the background (would have to google that if it's even possible, but i'm pretty sure it is).
__________________
HAL2000 v5.0.23
Win XP SP3
HAL voices UK
HAL DMC
Tell Me v2.7.0
dtomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 07:33 AM   #53
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,583
Default Re: HAL, Amazon Echo/Dot, SMS, and TV Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by john.cafagna View Post
As an FYI I personally found it easier, when using Alexa to turn off groups, to create a fake x10 device with a letter code I am not using and have HAL rules run off of that turning off or on. Example (Inside Light, HAL Virtual (Custom) X10, with code E07). Add that in the bridge then can say, "Alexa turn on inside lights". I may be making it more difficult, but works better for me.
John,

You can use the Groups command in HAL and in the HA Bridge. For example, I have my lights grouped in lots of ways. Upstairs, Main Floor, Basement, Inside, Outside, Front, Back... Take the HAL Group Outside... In the HA Bridge it adds this item as just the Group name Outside. So you would say to Alexa "Turn Outside Off" To keep my command consistent with HAL and for clarity I edit the Name in the HA Bridge to be "All Outside Lights" . This means I say the same thing to HAL and Alexa; "Turn All Outside Lights On". I don't use a virtual device or rule, just the HAL Group.

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 04:48 PM   #54
Pat Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 22
Default Re: HAL, Amazon Echo/Dot, SMS, and TV Control

Hello, I cant seem to open Ha bridge. I have Hal Ultra on windows 10 using chrome it downloads but does not open> I have nothing but Java icon with Ha bridge any help would be greatly appreciated. Do I need a the Hue bridge for this to work. I have all X10 devices
Pat Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 06:07 PM   #55
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,583
Default Re: HAL, Amazon Echo/Dot, SMS, and TV Control

Hi Pat,

Here is the most recent setup guide. I'm not sure if you tried to follow an older version of this guide. Let me know if after following these instructions, you are still unable to get it to work.

http://www.automatedliving.com/docs/...exa%200.8c.pdf

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.