Message Board

HVAC (Thermostats) This conference is for topics related to HAL's HVAC features and the third-party HVAC controllers that can be used with HAL.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2015, 02:36 PM   #1
radiodyne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 9
Default Thermostats

Which thermostat should I install? I can go into the add a device list for thermostats in HalUltra, but most, it seems, are outdated and not listed on the manufacturer's site as current. I am running an LG mini-split heat pump and I can come up with an interface to that, just need to know what the best choice would be for the thermostat would be. Recommendations?

Thanks,

Steve
radiodyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 07:22 PM   #2
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Thermostats

For ease of Installation I would suggest the CT-50 Wifi Stat.
http://www.amazon.com/Radio-Thermostat-CT50-7-Day-Programmable/dp/B00KQS35XA/

Here is a list which needs to be updated but should be of some help...

Regards,

Tim
Attached Images
File Type: png Stats.png (43.8 KB, 27 views)
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 09:08 PM   #3
radiodyne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 9
Default Re: Thermostats

Thank You!

Steve
radiodyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:59 PM   #4
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: Thermostats

Tim,

I invested in the Ecobee brand which I like a lot...very nice wi-fi stats. Is there any plan to get these integrated? I see from the image that you are in beta for NEST.....just curious if I should hold out or switch.

Thanks!

dave
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 05:21 PM   #5
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Thermostats

Dave I have been to their site a few times and can never figure out how to get to their forum!

https://ecobee.zendesk.com/entries/2...-API-Questions

They talk about an Open API, you just can't get to it LOL....

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 12:48 AM   #6
dtomcat
Advanced Member III
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 391
Default Re: Thermostats

https://www.ecobee.com/home/develope...th-intro.shtml


Tim,
this may help


-Rob
__________________
HALpro v7.2.7
Win 7
HAL voices US/UK
HAL DMC
Tell Me v2.7.0
dtomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 03:49 PM   #7
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: Thermostats

Thanks Tim & Rob,

I can ask them about an ICD some time.....just curious. I picked ECOBEE and the other logical choice was NEST. Either is a good solution, I just hate to waste 500 bucks.

Thanks for taking a look.

Dave
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.