Message Board

Security and Inputs/Outputs (I/O) This conference is for topics related to HAL's security and I/O features and the third-party controllers that have those features and that can be used with HAL.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2016, 01:37 AM   #1
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Hi All,

I recently updated the firmware in my NAPCO GEM 9600 Security panel to Version 61B (home automation) and am having some strange issues.

1) HAL can access the panel and correctly reads the READY NOT READY state of the system
2) HAL does not read all the sensors I have loaded for each zone. It reads some, but not all.
See attached screen grab.
3) When I remove a sensor that worked and then reconfigure, it also can no longer read the status.

I was using HA firmware version 40C, but had to upgrade for a systems keypad upgrade.

Thoughts:
- Do I have something corrupt somewhere in HAL related to the NAPCO device?
- Does Version 61B Firmware not work with HAL Ultra?
- Am I crazy??????

Any input would be great!

Thanks!

dave
Hal Ultra 6.0.60
Win 7
GEM9600
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NAPCO Sensor Status.jpg (38.4 KB, 7 views)
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 01:49 PM   #2
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Hi Dave,

We had a user last year have a similar problem. I will check with the guys in support to see how they solved the problem and get back to you!

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 02:01 PM   #3
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

HI Dave,

Quick question... are you using the flat gray cable and the PCI Mini adapter provided by Napco?

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 10:41 AM   #4
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Hi Tim,

Thanks for the reply. Yes, I am using the serial cable provided and the PCI Mini adapter to the panel. I've had it installed for 5-6 years now with no problem. Its odd that it reads some zones and not others.

I can swap the cable and the PCI mini interface to troubleshoot, I have a spare.

Just downloaded 6.1.12 with Tylers help.......nice guy and excited about checking it out.

Thanks again!

dave
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:47 AM   #5
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Tim,
One more interesting note:

I went and cycled each zone while monitoring the system monitor to verify proper reading of each zone cycle in HAL. The systems monitor correctly reads the zone, but when looking at Homenet on another machine, the zone is still not displayed. The zones which are displayed in Homenet do toggle correctly.

Pic attached.

Thanks!

dave
Attached Images
File Type: jpg System Monitor.jpg (67.2 KB, 4 views)
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 07:51 PM   #6
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Hi Tim,

Just back form work and was going to work this issue this week. Did you have any luck chasing this one down?

Thanks!
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:08 AM   #7
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

We fixed an issue in HomeNet Graphical UI that wouldn't permit arming or disarming that was introduced when we added HALws for security and incorporated tighter security. Only the Text version worked. We can't find anything related to sensors.

I would suggest that you start a help desk ticket and have one of the guys in support remote into your system to try and resolve it.

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 01:22 PM   #8
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Will do Tim. Thanks!
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 02:31 PM   #9
DaveGA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 52
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

Tim,

Finally home a bit and worked this.....I uninstalled and reinstalled and it worked. I probably had something set incorrectly.

Thanks!

dave
DaveGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 02:38 PM   #10
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: NAPCO GEM9600 Sensor Issue

That's great news! I'm glad you've resolved it
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
napco, security, sensors


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.