Message Board

HVAC (Thermostats) This conference is for topics related to HAL's HVAC features and the third-party HVAC controllers that can be used with HAL.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2016, 09:56 AM   #1
jamarotta
Advanced Member II
 
jamarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington,Florida
Posts: 223
Default Nest

Recently purchased last Nest Thermostat (3rd generation). I was able to go into HAL Ultra settings, choose Nest as thermostat, press Authorize, get the stat's PIN code, enter back into HAL Ultra, and got a Link Successful response. However Thermostat does not show up in the Automation Screen as a new device. When I 'Add a new device' NEST is not a manufacturer choice and so there's no way to add it the Automation Screen so HAL can utilize. Appreciate thoughts here.
jamarotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 05:17 PM   #2
dtomcat
Advanced Member III
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 391
Default Re: Nest

Jam,
I recently bought one as well and have contacted HAL. I know they are currently rewriting some of the nest code as we speak. I know they made progress, but still have some smaller things to iron out. I'll let you know when they release an update.


-Rob
__________________
HALpro v7.2.7
Win 7
HAL voices US/UK
HAL DMC
Tell Me v2.7.0
dtomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 08:02 AM   #3
jamarotta
Advanced Member II
 
jamarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington,Florida
Posts: 223
Default Re: Nest

Rob- thanks for taking the time to reply. Appreciate it and the updates.

Best regards,
Joe
jamarotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 11:53 AM   #4
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Nest

Hi Joe,

Which version of HALultra are you using? There is a new build coming this week with an update to how we retrieve data from the Nest cloud server which will be more efficient. There is also a fix for our Celsius customers...

You should see a screens like the following in Device Wizard:
Attached Images
File Type: png NEST1.png (70.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: png NEST2.png (61.0 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 12:53 PM   #5
jamarotta
Advanced Member II
 
jamarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington,Florida
Posts: 223
Default Re: Nest

Hi Tim

I'm using the latest public HALUltra build 6.0.39. Nest does not appear as an available manufacturer in the device wizard. Goes from 'Honeywell' to 'OnQ Technologies' on my list (no NEST alphabetically in between). The only place I found NEST was in the 'Settings/HVAC' screen (which allowed me to authorize/link (Home Automatic Living shows up in the 'works with' screen of the NEST app once linked) but cannot actually add the thermostat as a device because of the above. If there's a later beta, I'd be happy to install and play with.

Best regards, Joe
jamarotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 01:38 PM   #6
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Nest

Hi Joe,

You can always go here to see what the latest version of HAL is... In the new build coming this week, 6.1.3 the system will notify you of updates available.

I will email you the link for the latest HALultra build

Regards,

Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 02:18 PM   #7
jamarotta
Advanced Member II
 
jamarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington,Florida
Posts: 223
Default Re: Nest

Thanks Tim. The logic to prompt to download updates/ latest version will be a great addition to HAL.. .Joe
jamarotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 02:36 PM   #8
TimShriver
Administrator
 
TimShriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Nest

Hi Joe, I am emailing you the 6.1.3 HALultra beta to test with your Nest Stat. Tim
__________________
Tim Shriver
Home Automated Living
TimShriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 02:48 PM   #9
jamarotta
Advanced Member II
 
jamarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington,Florida
Posts: 223
Default Re: Nest

Confirming receipt. Will test the new beta out this weekend.. Thank you..Joe
jamarotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 09:07 PM   #10
DOHman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 5
Default Re: Nest

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimShriver View Post

You can always go here to see what the latest version of HAL is... In the new build coming this week, 6.1.3 the system will notify you of updates available.

Regards,

Tim
Tim, will we be able to download/update within HAL now, or do we still need to request a download link?
DOHman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.