Message Board

X10, UPB, Z-Wave and Insteon This forum is for topics related to X10/Z-Wave/UPB/Insteon configuration with HAL.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2015, 02:24 PM   #1
stregone
Junior Member
 
stregone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Huntsville, TX
Posts: 24
Question Unable to initialize Insteon adapter

At one time I had the Insteon USB powerlinc installed until it quit working so I replaced it with my original HAL serial power line adapter. I have removed the 3 Insteon modules that I was using and deleted them from HAL.
Now every time HAL restarts I see the message "Unable to initialize Insteon adapter connected to COM port, HAL will be unable to communicate with this adapter. Please check the connection and/or setup of that adapter and restart HAL, Insteon services will be temporarily disabled."



Although all I have to do is click or and it seems to have no affect on running HAL, it has become quite a nuisance. Is there anyway I can let HAL know that device no longer exits so this message will stop popping up?






Running:
HAL Ultra version 6.0.39
Windows 7 Professional

Last edited by stregone; 07-19-2015 at 02:25 PM. Reason: too many extra lines
stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 12:40 AM   #2
dtomcat
Advanced Member III
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 389
Default Re: Unable to initialize Insteon adapter

You probably still have it selected under system settings. open systems settings and then select insteon... and uncheck "Insteon Enabled"... should fix you up just nice


-Rob
__________________
HALpro v7.2.7
Win 7
HAL voices US/UK
HAL DMC
Tell Me v2.7.0
dtomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 08:58 PM   #3
stregone
Junior Member
 
stregone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Huntsville, TX
Posts: 24
Thumbs up Re: Unable to initialize Insteon adapter

Thanks Rob, first I had to plug the module back into the USB port before I could even access the setting, but that did the trick.
stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:06 PM   #4
john.cafagna
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unable to initialize Insteon adapter

My USB Insteon Modem just stopped being initialized by HAL at startup. This will be the third in three years that has failed. Anyone else have this problem or a solution to save me $80 per year? I reset the modem physically, I reinstalled it in Windows (I can see it in the device manager), HAL just can no longer initialize it... UGGH!
john.cafagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 08:50 PM   #5
stregone
Junior Member
 
stregone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Huntsville, TX
Posts: 24
Default Re: Unable to initialize Insteon adapter

According to others and personal experience, the USB Insteon Modem usually fails around a year after purchasing, I have too have purchased 3 in three years and finally gave up on ALL Insteon products all together. Went back to the old X-10 modules that I have had for over 20 years and they still have not failed me yet.
stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 10:56 AM   #6
dlink
Junior Member
 
dlink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 15
Default Re: Unable to initialize Insteon adapter

I have also had problems with Insteon module failures and have decided to abandon Insteon.
dlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.